To New Years and Beyond!

On keeping goals and staying motivated throughout the year

“Don’t quit, suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion” -Muhammad Ali

If you’re anything like I was you have trouble staying motivated enough to achieve your goals. I would always plan to do something and never follow through with it, causing me to feel down and make me feel like a failure. It discouraged me from trying to do anything at all. Then a few months ago I learned that motivation is something that is required daily. Like a shower.

2015/01/img_3481.jpg

I used to wait for motivation but when I saw that quote that’s when I decided to do something and take control of my life. Most people, including myself, have their phones on them 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. I decided to use it as my motivation buddy. Here’s something’s I’ve learned to help.

1. Set your lock screen as something motivational. Look I know you want to show off your kids, dogs, Bae, or whatever but I’ve leaned that putting the quotes on the lock screen often keeps me from going in my phone when I’m doing an important task. It keeps me focused.

2. Set other quotes you love in your daily reminders. This is something I learned from a poet at a show I performed at. Every couple of hours a reminder goes off on his phone with a quote, I decided to do it. At 9 am the quote “failure is not always failing” pops up on my screen. At 11 am “what’s more important your goals or your excuses” rings. And so on and so forth. Be creative use quotes that will inspire you to keep going.

3. Just shut up and do it. I can’t stress the importance of this last one. Stop making excuses. Stop running your mouth. Just get the job done whatever it is finish it.

Since I’ve used this method I’ve published a book of poetry , starting writing my novel, hope to be done with it by summer, and I’m working on my second book of poetry.

In order to achieve your goals you have to do something different or you will always get the same results. I also recommend the book The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg. In this book Charles explains why we do what we do in life and business. He uses experts in different fields who have become successful.

Make motivation a habit and you can achieve your goals. Happy New Years! May the odds be ever in your favor.

2 responses to “To New Years and Beyond!

Leave a Reply

